Campbell Election Roundup

Three of the five seats on Campbell’s City Council are up for grabs this November. Residents of Districts 3, 4, and 5 will also vote for new representatives this upcoming election cycle, while Districts 1 and 2 will be voted on in 2024.

Town Councilmember Election

The candidates that have qualified for the ballot are Dan Furtado (District 3), Elliot Scozzola (District 4), and Anne Coyne Bybee (District 5).

Dan Furtado

Dan Furtado is a native of Campbell and has previously served on the Campbell City Council.. He was elected to the City Council in March of 1996, acting as Mayor in 1999, 2003 and 2007. Furtado was also selected as Citizen of the Year for the City of Campbell back in 2000.

Along with his involvement in Campbell, Furtado has served as a volunteer for the American Heart Association for 30 years, being on the Board of Directors and President of the Santa Clara County Chapter of the American Heart Association.

Furtado served two years on active duty with the U.S. Army and retired as Colonel with 40 years of service in the Army Reserve. He was appointed Army Reserve Ambassador for California in June 2006.

Elliot Scozzola

Elliot Scozzola is a small business owner and educator in the City of Campbell. He is a third-generation Campbell resident.

Scozzola serves on the Board of the Campbell Historical Museum & Ainsley House Foundation, and as a School Site Council Parent Representative for Capri Elementary.  He is also a member of the Campbell Chamber of Commerce and volunteers his time with Campbell Girls Fast Pitch Softball, and local food pantries around the South Bay.

Scozzola plans to prioritize supporting small businesses, after-school programs, public safety, and affordable housing; all with the goal of restoring the heart of the city. He also hopes to create a Campbell food pantry and Campbell Cares Card.

Scozzola’s endorsements include the Sierra Club, Michelle Thomas a community leader & President of the Campbell Museum Foundation, and Joseph D. Anderson, aprofessor of Administration of Justice.  

Anne Coyne Bybee

Anne Coyne Bybee is Vice Mayor of Campbell and was originally elected to Campbell City Council in 2018. Vice Mayor Bybee also acted as City Clerk for the City of Campbell before retiring. In all, Vice Mayor Bybee has served over 28 years in public service.

Vice Mayor Bybee earned her Certified Municipal Clerk and Master Municipal Clerk designations from the International Institute of Municipal Clerks and was recognized by the Campbell City Council in 2013 for receiving the Women of Distinction Award. She is also a devoted wife to a retired Campbell Police Agent, and a mother to two grown daughters who grew up going to Campbell schools. Vice Mayor Bybee has been an active member of the community and continues to volunteer in public schools.

Campbell Union High School Board of Trustees

This upcoming election cycle will select new trustees for District areas 1, 3, 4, and 5. Candidates include Jason Baker and Adam Rocha.

Jason Baker

Jason Baker is a Campbell Union parent and public servant. Baker sat on Campbell City Council for eight years, including two terms as Mayor.

While on the City Council, Baker served on regional boards representing every city in CHUSD and was involved with the Santa Clara County Library Board and the Board of Hamann Park Neighborhood Association.

Baker believes the first step to good education is supporting teachers. His campaign promises include higher salaries for teachers and staff and providing new opportunities for professional growth.

Baker’s endorsements include local and regional leaders like Congresswoman Anna Eshoo, Assemblymember Marc Berman, and Campbell Mayor Paul Resnikoff.

Click here to visit Baker’s campaign website.

Adam Rocha

Adam Rocha is a Bay Area native. Rocha has worked in real estate and property management across the region for over 15 years.

23rd State Assembly District

Democratic Incumbent Marc Berman is up against Republican candidate Tim Dec for the 23rd State Assembly seat.

Marc Berman

Marc Berman was elected to the California State Assembly in 2016 and currently serves as Chair of the Assembly Elections Committee. As Chair of the elections committee, Berman wrote the law to make California a permanent vote-by-mail state. He also acted as chair of the Select Committee on the Census, leading Assembly efforts to prepare the 2020 census.

In his position, Berman has written the Student Transfer Achievement Reform Act and authored the legislation that banned the sale of new gas-powered equipment, like leaf blowers and lawn mowers. Berman’s priorities include woman’s healthcare rights, accessible voting, fire mitigation, and environmental impacts, and education.

Berman previously served on Palo Alto City Council and worked at the Silicon Valley Education Foundation.

Click here to visit Berman’s campaign website.

Tim Dec

Tim Dec is a self-proclaimed center-right problem solver who hopes to challenge the status quo, bring new ideas, and find common sense solutions in the State Assembly. His campaign goals include regulatory relief for businesses and consumers, streamlining affordable housing, supporting the unhoused through customized case management, addressing climate risk, modernizing education with charter and vocational schools, and putting an end to divisive politics.

After 30 years of working in the tech industry, Dec made a shift into a role centered around fixing problems and providing education. This led him to join the South Peninsula Area Republican Coalition where he has acted as both board member and treasurer. Dec later served as a delegate to the California GOP.

Dec is currently involved with the non-partisan Citizens’ Climate Lobby and Little House Senior Center in addition to running his own technology coaching business.

Click here to visit Dec’s campaign website.