Santa Clara County schools recognized with state honors

Twelve schools in Santa Clara County are named among more than 100 middle and high schools honored this year under the 2021 California Distinguished Schools Program.

“These schools are great examples of California’s commitment to provide outstanding public education for all students, and their data-driven efforts have helped ensure that their students leave with the tools and skills they need to be successful after graduation,” said State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond in announcing the list.

“Our thanks go to the entire communities surrounding these schools, including the teachers, administrators, and classified employees as well as the students and their families who, through teamwork, all accomplished this impressive achievement together.”

The dozen schools in Santa Clara County which have been recognized are:  KIPP Heartwood Acadamey, Morrill Middle, Branham High, Joaquin Miller Middle, Sam H. Lawson Middle, Evergreen Valley High, KIIP San Jose Collegiate, College Connection Academy, Cupertino High, Monta Vista High, Rancho Milpitas Middle and University Preparatory Academy Charter.

“We are proud to be recognized for our faculty and staff’s continued effort to support students with college and career preparation and readiness during even the hardest of times,” said Branham High Principal Cheryl Lawton.

“The hard work, collaboration, and tenacity of our talented team has made this accomplishment possible.”

The California Department of Education (CDE) identifies and awards eligible schools based on performance and progress on state indicators specified on the California School Dashboard, the state’s accountability and continuous improvement system. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate.

Sponsored by the CDE and presented by California Casualty, the Distinguished Schools Program recognizes schools for their excellent work in one of two categories: closing the achievement gap and achieving exceptional student performance. Elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years.

To view the full list of recognized schools, click here.